Mary Jacobs Smith Singer of the Year Competition

Congratulations to the 2020 Mary Jacobs Smith Singer of the Year

Leia Lensing, Mezzo-soprano

The 2020 Awards & Award Winners

The Mary Jacobs Smith Award

1st prize ($10,000)

Leia Lensing

The Charles Maggio Award

2nd prize ($5,000)

Gabrielle Beteag 

The Robert J. Murray Memorial Award

3rd prize ($3,000)

Jana McIntyre

The Lorena Bessey Mangin Memorial Award

4th prize ($1,250)

Alec Carlson

The Jennifer White Memorial Award

5th prize ($500)

Jonathan Kaufman

Honorable Mentions ($300 each):

The Katherine S. Tyrrell Memorial Award

Brittney Nickell

The Dr. & Mrs. Bob Robinson Award

Flora Wall 


The Glenn & Ginger Flournoy Award

Dylan Davis


The Robert J. Petersen Award

Evan Hammond


The Dr. Melvin & Lea Johnson Memorial Award

Jeff Byrnes

The Opera Guild Audience Choice Award

Flora Wall & Alec Carlson

Leia Lensing, mezzo-soprano, is the 2020 Mary Jacobs Smith Singer of the Year! Mary's daughter Mary N. Smith was unable to attend this year's ceremony, but friend Ginger Flournoy presented the award on her behalf. 

The 10 finalists for 2020 Singer of the Year with judges and pianists! 

Mezzo-soprano, Gabrielle Beteag won the 1st runner-up prize, the Charles Maggio Award, which was presented by Charles' granddaughter Jodie Glorioso.

Soprano Jana McIntyre won the 2nd runner-up prize, the Robert J. Murray Memorial Award, presented to her by Robert's wife Cynthia.

Alec Carlson, tenor, was the third runner-up, receiving the Lorena Bessey Mangin Award from Lorena's grandson Geoff Mangin.

Jonathan Kaufman, tenor, received the 4th runner-up prize, the Jennifer White Memorial Award. Doug & Shellye White sponsor this award in memory of their daughter Jennifer.